Spirit Science 2 ~ Chakras

This episode is all about Chakras! This is a perfect second step for those starting to delve into the spiritual realm because the chakra system is a fundamental diagram of not only our own consciousness but everything in the universe. Consider the notes of a musical octave, or the colors of the rainbow, which mirror the chakras identically.

This system originally stemmed from multiple ancient Indian religions, potentially even earlier. They are specific points, often described as vortexes or wheels of energy that run all along our bodies. There are typically seven main points, but there are many systems that use 8, 9, 13, and others that use hundreds of smaller chakra points all over our body.

The most common Chakra system is the basic seven, known as Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown. These seven are also referred to by their Sanskrit names: Muladhara, Svadisthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vissudha, Ajna and Sahasrara. Though the addition of the Hara, which is in-between the Sacral and Solar Chakras, is often included in many energetic practices as well.

Chakras are both non-physical, energetic openings on our body, and physical representation of things in our life. Each chakra can represent a physical aspect in your life, as well as an emotional and spiritual aspect as well.

The root is red; it is the base chakra located at the bottom of our spine. It represents the energy of survival, health, and other “essential-for-life” ideas such as sex and finances (represented by money, but deeper relative to resources). The root is about our foundation, which can translate to the physical reality, and is blocked by fear, but opened by faith.

If we don’t have a stable housing situation, our root chakra may be off-balance. It could also manifest as health issues or being out of touch with your body if you are not fully connected to it. But holding a deeper understanding of yourself as a soul more than that of just your physical body, you gain a deeper spiritual understanding, a faith in the greater you that will go on long after this life. This understanding brings grounding and courage to face your fears and work up towards the next energy center.

The Sacral is orange and is located in our pelvic area. It represents emotion, our relationships, creativity, and passion. An open sacral chakra might look like a fully healthy relationship with your partner, or easily being in touch with your creative side while making art.

A closed sacral may manifest most often through guilt and can appear as having difficulty tapping into your inner passion, blocking your connections to your feelings, and struggling to create what you love.

Your sacral can then be opened by acceptance and forgiveness of yourself and others around you, holding space to be patient with others and knowing that each person you meet will have something to teach you if you are open to learning! You can gain balance in your actions your relationships by connecting with your sacral, and if you need additional energy or support at this level, you can always pull more faith up from your root!

The solar plexus is yellow and represents where our willpower, courage, and drive comes from. This chakra is important for pushing us forward in life.

An open solar plexus could look like having a natural drive to create and make your dreams come true. It is the forward motion that internally guides us. Shame most often blocks the solar plexus, and it stops us from being able to step into our power.

The solar plexus is opened then by pure intentioned willpower and the actions required on the physical plane that will move you towards creating your dreams. The solar plexus is a massive energy center and can burn away any remaining discomfort or possessiveness with its light!

The heart chakra is green, and it’s all about love! It is our compassion center, where we love from, and receive love back. Many people have blocked heart chakras because of the disharmonious energy our world is in. It’s easy to feel closed off to people when our global consciousness is still very much at war, both on an individual level, and among communities.

The heart is blocked by grief, and if you have trouble experiencing love, being empathic or compassionate to others, this is a sign of blocked heart chakra.

A great way to open the heart is to simply meditate on the feeling of your heart expanding and sending love to everyone in your life. Even those who have challenged you, hurt you, or caused you suffering, see them as a lesson to learn to love even deeper. Love and forgiveness will set you free.

The throat chakra is blue, and all about perfect expression, speaking and hearing the truth. This one is simple – if you feel scared or discouraged to speak up to those in your life, that is a sign of a throat chakra that has been blocked by a disconnection to your heart and the faith and energy from below.

Understanding your true power as something much more than a physical human is an important step to opening your throat chakra. Exploring your personal expression is vital, both individually and globally. Speaking up for yourself and making sure to listen just as well when others speak will help bring this energy center into balance.

The third eye chakra is indigo, and represents our psychic or intuitive senses and being able to tap into the spiritual realm. One simple way to open this chakra is simply believing it’s possible to exist beyond physicality. If you can easily feel other people’s energies, sense their thoughts or emotions, this is a sign your third eye is open. The third eye is blocked by illusion, and thus clarity of mind becomes the key to unblocking and revealing the deeper truth.

Finally, there is the crown, which radiates to the color of violet! This is your ultimate connection to Source, God, The Universe – or whatever you want to call it. It is the ability to tap into a higher consciousness that is, in the end, all of us. It is the understanding that we are all fundamentally one, and then the embodiment of that understanding. You will know your crown is open when you can look into the eyes of a stranger and see both yourself and God.



Basic Chakra Information:

Additional Research:

Reiki Research:

A Mystery School For The New Age...

In late 2019, Spirit Science launched  a one-of-a-kind educational platform ~ Spirit Mysteries ~ as an online space for self-mastery. It has grown rapidly, and now contains hundreds of hours of courses and thousands of students from across the world. 

If you are ready to take your spirituality to the next level, click below to get started.

Learn More

50% Complete

You're almost there!

There's only one more step to getting your free downloads! Enter your email below to gain access now!